Sponsored by Folsom Bike

2015-09-20 IronMan Lake Tahoe 70.3 Race Report by Susannah Breen

After a spring of bike races with the Folsom Bike ladies, I shifted my race focus to a few triathlons this summer. My final race of this season, being  IM Lake Tahoe 70.3, provided a spectacular opportunity to train and race in one of the most beautiful areas in NorCal. While the ladies continued to podium at some of my favorite Summer road races, I was swimming, cycling, running, and swimming again in and around Lake Tahoe.

Lake Tahoe is a spectacular place to swim. Clear and clean, the race started at Kings Beach with perfect conditions. This was also a “rolling” start…basically everyone starting together….and I wasn’t sure if this would help my swim or not. Somewhere along the way,  I ended up next to a gentlemen in a yellow wetsuit, which was amazingly easy to keep track of under water. I kept as close to him as possible, and soon enough was out of the water. OMG, and they had people to take off your wetsuit?!?!? Yes, please.

Out onto the bike, I was so ready for this course. From Kings Beach to Tahoe City, through Truckee and up Brockway Summit, I had spent many weekends riding this loop of roads. I felt fantastic and enjoyed all the spectators cheering along the course. More cowbell, please!

The bike finished in Squaw Valley and the run course was 2 laps on the bike path from the Village and out to HWY 89. I exited T2 soon after another woman and I figured I would try to keep her within my sights. This kept me pretty focused while the miles ticked away. I never did catch her, but as I closed in on the last few miles I could still see her and knew there was always a chance that my overall time would be faster given the rolling swim start. The last mile and especially the finish are a total blur. Oh hey, volunteer “catchers”….why yes….I will take your assistance this time around! Does anyone have a salt lick, please?!?!?

What a day. First in my age group and third overall female. As always, it’s an army of people that contribute to days like this. Coach Jesse Moore, Erin Gorrell of Folsom Bike, and Judd Van Sickle at UC Davis Sports Medicine have kept me healthy and on point with my training. My cycling teammates and swim buddies have pushed me to be a better athlete on numerous levels. My family is the ultimate support crew in training and the key to any successful race day. And my friends and co-workers…they put up with the crazy training and are the most positive influence in keeping things balanced and in perspective. 2015 is a wrap!

Leave a Reply

