Sponsored by Folsom Bike

Ironman Lineman 70.3-Brian Skehan 7/16/16

Swim

In the past I’ve done very well with this crowded swim course. It’s an out and back in the Russian river In Guerneville. The water, to me, is very warm and almost too warm to be wearing a wet suit. I was seeded in the 17th wave that started around 8am. That’s an hour and 15 min after the pros. After the gun went off, I settled into a comfortable pace that I was used too, made the turn back to the T1 and I could feel the current push me down river a bit. No problems with the swim, sighting was good or I thought it was. I swam 300 more than I needed too. This happens way too often for me. Everything went as expected and planned. Swim time 42:00 min

IMG_3967

T1

Everything went as planned, but very crowded with a sold out race. Time 4:36

Bike

This bike course can be very fast if the wind is non-existent, otherwise it can be a real pain in the…..This year, around mile 15 the winds started to pick up. I rode with a head wind for 20 miles, which took some gas out of the tank. I pushed too hard to fight the wind, big mistake, on my part. Also, I spent too much time worrying about my bike speed, and I lost focus with my nutrition plan. This ultimately destroyed my run plan. This sport can be very humbling at times. Mile 40, I had a tail wind that was a huge relief; again I pushed too hard to make up time. Miles 45-55 the winds switched back and forth draining the tank. I just wanted to get off the bike at that time. Bike time 2:49

IMG_3964

T2

As planned nothing really to report here Time 4:57

Run

Previous races my hamstrings start cramping around mile 6 or 7. This year was no exception. Like clockwork, boom it happens. I had to re-adjust the game plan to accommodate this ongoing problem. This leads to slowing down and walking at times. Around mile 8 the hunger became a problem. My energy levels were low and mentally I had to push myself forward. I only had five miles left, but it was the longest five miles ever. I clearly was paying the price for not taking in calories in on the bike and pushing the bike speed. I finished the race Very defeated and frustrated. This race was planned an “A” race and I was hoping to PR. That did not happen at all. This race became a glorified training day for Vineman140.6. Run time 2:27

IMG_3966

Conclusion

Today was rough day of racing for me. I had high hopes for a PR today, but on a positive note, a lot was learned and needed to be addressed before my full ironman in a few weeks. I want to thank Folsom bike, and Folsom bike triathlon team for their continued support

Leave a Reply

