Sponsored by Folsom Bike

TBF Tri for Real #2 Olympic 6/26/2016-Cheryl Sanford

The weather was perfect at 71* for the swim, the water was chilly at first, but quickly warmed up with race adrenaline. I did the swim a little faster this time, at 29:04. I felt good going into Transition 1, changed quickly, lol almost left without my helmet, shoved my GU Roctane into my pockets and took off on the bike. Clipping into my bike I was so happy to get new clips from Folsom Bike a couple of days before. Zero float. My bike was a couple minutes faster at 1:32:38, not fast by any means, but enjoyable, especially hitting the nice smooth pavement of Amador County.

I noticed getting in to T2, that it was getting a little hot out here. I put my shoes on grabbed my hat almost forgot my race belt and number, and left my transition spot to trip on parking block. LOL, no harm, no fall, As I was leaving out on the run I saw Scott Williams from the Folsom Bike Triathlon Team cheering me on, yay, love some cheers!   The run was what I’d imagine running through the Sahara would be like, hot dry and the aid stations were the oasis you see, and think is it real? I took off at a good pace 9:40, then 9:10, then 8:40, then the crash started to happen I settled down into a 10:11 min mile and realized that I’m thirsty, not a good sign. I ended up at a 13:47 min mile, not a good run I was 20 min slower than last time. I didn’t give in though; I finished and crossed the line. I ended up in 8th place. I was a little discouraged but happy that I didn’t give up.

Leave a Reply

