Sponsored by Folsom Bike

Bryan Wetzet IceBreaker Triathlon

As a training day for IronMan Santa Rosa 70.3, I decided to enter the Ice Breaker Triathlon. I wanted to see just how cold the water would be and get a little Open Water practice. My goal for this race was to “race but not race” I wanted to push my aerobic capacity, but not get anaerobic. My plan was to save my legs for the 3.5 hour bike ride I needed to execute the next day. I showed up at Granite Bay Beach about 90 minutes before race time. It was another wet week in the Sacramento region. I ws informed that the bike course was to be shortened to 10 miles. The distances for this race were now as follows: Swim 1/2 Mile Bike 10 Miles Run 4 Miles.

Prior to the start of the race I spent some time getting reacquainted with my wetsuit and transition setup. I was debating on what to use for the swim. I was told that the water temperature was 52 degrees and I could see lots of debris in the lake. I decided to wear my gloves and neoprene cap. I passed on the booties since the swim was so short.

Swim: I entered the water 5 minutes prior to my wave going off. I wanted to get acclimated to the freezing water temperature and try to get my face over the shock. I immediately realized that not wearing my booties was a tactical error. I couldn’t feel my feet because they were so numb. In addition to being numb, there was lots of tree branches and a rough path back to T1. Once my wave went off, it was my goal to take the swim slowly at first to try and get some comfort from the cold. After a few minutes I was able to keep my face in the water without a problem. My feet on the other hand felt weird. I was able to lay down a time of 16:48 which was an average of 1:47 per 100. This was slightly faster than the 1:55 that I was averaging in my pool swims. All in all I was pretty happy with this swim. It gave me an opportunity to swim Open Water prior to Santa Rosa and practice my sighting.

T1 was a pretty slow effort for me. The hike up the hill from the lake was pretty painful on my feet, so I decided to take my time. When I got back to my bike, I spent a good amount of time drying off because it was in the 40’s and I didn’t want to freeze on the ride. I actually threw a winter cycling jersey on over my Tri Kit to keep warm. At this point my feet were still numb, and I was off to the Bike course in 5:29

Bike: My goal for the bike was to put down a harder effort since the course was so short. I averaged a low Z4 HR and was able to average 212 watts. Both of these were well within my goals. This little course probably wasn’t really setup or beneficial to use my TT bike. There were lots of curves and i couldn’t be aero as much as I would’ve liked. My total time was 32:23 and I averaged 18.9 mph. I still couldn’t feel my feet on the entire bike course.

T2 I didn’t fly through T2. I wanted to see if I could get some blood flowing back into my feet before putting on my running shoes and gathering my gear. My goal was to run with my water bottles and everything that I would carry in Santa Rosa. I made it on to the run course in 1:44

Run: I must start off by saying that I was not a fan of this run course. The course weaved us back and fourth on single track trails. I didn’t feel like the course was safe. There were many areas that were flooded and muddy with no traction. I almost went to the ground a couple of times. The goal for this run was to put down a low Z3 HR effort and run a similar pace that I’ll be shooting for in Santa Rosa. about 1 mile into the run I was finally able to feel my toes again so that was good. I completed the run in 37:13 which averaged out to be 9:46 per mile, and my fastest mile was the last one at 9:16

My total time for the race was 1:33:37 and I took second in my division. Not bad for a training day

Leave a Reply

