Sponsored by Folsom Bike

IM Santa Rosa 70.3 Amy Weathersbee

This was only my 3rd Triathlon and it’s race day for my first HIM.  I have been training for the last 4 1/2 months with my friend and teammate Bryan Wertzer.. I put in the time and was ready but nervous to get out there.  Arrived at the shuttle right at 4am.  As we are driving the 35 minute route to the start the bus starts to pull over multiple times on the freeway.  Eventually we pull off under the freeway because the bus has no headlights.  We wait 45 minutes for our rescue bus and now I know the clock is ticking for me to get ready.  We finally get there at 5:30 and the transition area closes at 6:15.  I take a deep breath and get ready for the training to come together.
Swim 7:03am
This is a rolling start and I think I was a little conservative with where I seeded myself.  I walk into the water and pleasantly surprised with the water temp.  I had done a few swims in Folsom Lake which was much colder.  Happy I jump in and begin.  A couple hundred yards out it appears to be a stand still.  Some people are panicking at the cold and rippling water.  I take a breath and collect my thoughts and push forward.  The swim is what I know I need to get through and under the cutoff time.  I look later at my watch and know “I got this!”.  Rounding the last corner back to the boat dock I come in 8:03am.. (time was 59:30) my fave has a permanent smile!!!  My hubby is there and all I kept saying was I did it!!! T1 is long jaunt back and took me a little longer than I wanted but off to the bike…

Bike
I had just put aero bars on 3 weeks prior and a new saddle from Folsom Bike.  After being a bit intimidated by all the beautiful TT bikes I felt more prepared.  Off I go and I have a great feeling that at least I know the course.  Bryan and I did this 3 weeks earlier.  This gave me confidence to know I can do all the hills and know when to take my break at Mile 30 before getting into the climbing after mile 40.  Fueling was sooooo important.  It’s where I tend to make my mistakes.  One thing I aded was EFS in fruit punch flavor to my water.  What a life saver.. between adrenaline and nerves I had to get calories in somehow.  The bike was great – never got tired and again had that big smile.  Coming into T2 I see my hubby again with my friends and come in for the last change.  I was near the front entrance so it was seconds before I was hanging the bike and changing the shoes.  Bike time was 3:53

Run
Now with the swim and bike behind me I have no doubt I can finish.  The run is nice and flat.  But by Mile 10 the legs start to cramp and darn forgot the base salt on my bike…a little combo of run walking for the next 2 miles and then so happy to see mile 12 marker. I asked someone what time it was and I calculated that I could do sub 8 hours.  Now for a lot of people that is really long but my only goal had been to finish .  Rounding the last corner there is my husband, Bryan ( he had been done for quite a while) and friends!  I am super happy and the tears come to my eyes knowing I am completing feeling great and yes with that smile!!!  Run 2:38

Total time 7:54!!  What a terrific experience and I am hooked.  Can’t wait for the next one!!  Thanks so much to all the time Bryan spent with me to get me to this place…thanks Karyn and Scott for all your support…
Oh and my wonderful husband just bought me a Trek Speed Concept 7.5 from Folsom Bike for my new obsession – Triathlon’s!!!!

Leave a Reply

